Stackrate

Medius vs Stampli vs Basware for AP Automation

Published September 20, 2026 · 3 requirements · 3 vendors

Share:

Executive Summary

6/9 supported
Vendor fit ranking. Each row is a vendor with their weighted fit score and evidence confidence grade.
VendorFitConfidence
Medius81% · Strong fit
A · High
Basware69% · Good fit
A · High
Stampli64% · Disqualified — critical miss
A · High

Your environment: a $120M multi-location services firm with a 3-person AP team keying 1,800 invoices per month across 2 Sage Intacct entities (with a third planned), a 55/45 PO to non-PO split, and a goal of shifting 30%+ of spend to virtual card for rebate revenue. Medius is the strongest fit at 81% (2/2 critical met), with documented AES-256 encryption plus ISO 27001/SOC 2 attestation and a native Medius Payments virtual card program paying 1%+ monthly rebates with managed supplier enrollment to drive your spend-shift target. Its one caveat is that the Sage Intacct connector is partner-delivered through Acuity Solutions rather than Medius-native, so per-entity GL posting, dimension carriage, and vendor master sync must be verified in writing before contracting; otherwise you risk invoices tagged to the wrong entity or dimensions dropping at post, forcing manual re-coding into Intacct. Stampli, despite the deepest and self-service-provable multi-entity Intacct integration (entity keys mirrored at ingestion, entity-aware routing, per-entity payment posting, and headroom proven at 400+ entities on one customer), is DISQUALIFIED because its virtual card envelope falls below your 30% spend-shift ask, and it cannot be named the strongest match on that quantitative miss. Basware (69%, 2/2 critical) meets encryption cleanly but carries two partials that compound: no certified Sage Intacct connector means entity-level posting fidelity must be custom-scoped rather than assumed, and its current buyer-revenue mechanism is early-payment discounting funded by your own cash, not virtual card interchange, leaving the rebate program's US availability and rebate rates unconfirmed.

Your situation is different. Get this comparison for it.

Medius, Stampli and Basware, evaluated against your own process, with a cited source for every finding. Free, no account.

Vendor Verdicts

Evaluation method

This comparison is based on 27 inline citations from official vendor documentation:

  • basware.com9 citations
  • medius.com6 citations
  • help.stampli.com5 citations
  • stampli.com4 citations
  • 1 other domain3 citations

Marketing pages and third-party affiliate sites were excluded as primary evidence. Each of 3 requirements was evaluated against the scenario above; confidence is marked per finding.

Full methodology·Sources cited inline beneath each finding

Comparison Matrix

RequirementMediusStampliBasware

Multi-entity support within the integration; we operate 2 entities in Intacct and plan to add a third

PartialSupportedPartial

Data encryption at rest and in transit

SupportedSupportedSupported

Virtual card program with rebate revenue; we want to shift 30%+ of spend to virtual card

SupportedSupportedPartial

Detailed Findings

Critical · Multi-entity support within the integration; we operate 2 entities in Intacct and plan to add a third

Stampli: SupportedMedius: PartialBasware: Partial

SummaryStampli supports this: For a two-entity Sage Intacct environment growing to three, Stampli operates within a single platform account that mirrors Intacct's entity hierarchy directly. Medius partially supports this: As a $120M multi-location services company operating 2 Sage Intacct entities with a third planned, you need an AP layer that can route invoices to the right entity-scoped workflow, post to the correct entity's GL, and scale to a third entity without re-implementation. Basware partially supports this: Your scenario involves 2 active Sage Intacct entities with a third planned, all processed through a centralized 3-person AP team.

Stampli — Supported · 93% fit · Grade A

Supported

For a two-entity Sage Intacct environment growing to three, Stampli operates within a single platform account that mirrors Intacct's entity hierarchy directly. At invoice ingestion, entities are assigned automatically: AP staff email invoices to a dedicated alias that encodes the Intacct entity key (e.g., companyID+Entity-KEY@mystampli.com), and Stampli pre-populates the working entity on the invoice record before any human touches it (Stampli Help Center, 'Email Address for Auto Assigning Invoices to Entities'). Entity-level permissions, chart of accounts, dimensions, and vendor lists for each entity sync from Intacct automatically, so each entity's GL structure stays isolated without manual remapping (stampli.com/erp/sage-intacct: Stampli 'mirrors Intacct's multi-entity hierarchy exactly in one unified platform' and 'entity-level permissions travel automatically from Intacct'). Approval routing is entity-aware: rules can fire based on entity as an invoice attribute alongside amount, department, vendor, and GL account, so approvers for Entity A never see Entity B invoices unless explicitly granted access (stampli.com/resources/approval-workflows-in-accounts-payable). At payment, the multi-location Direct Pay feature presents a paying-location dropdown that locks each payment to one entity's bank accounts and posts the payment record back to that specific Intacct entity (Stampli Help Center, 'Multi-location payments for Sage Intacct', updated 2026-01-14). Adding a third entity requires updating the email alias to include the new entity key, which the help documentation describes as self-service with no re-implementation (Help Center, 'Email Address for Auto Assigning Invoices to Entities': 'If entity keys change or new ones are added, just simply use the new or updated entity key in the email alias'). Stampli publicly states it supports unlimited entities and has 15,000 entities represented across its customer base, with a documented case of a single customer running 400-plus entities through the Sage Intacct integration.

Limitations

The multi-location payment feature (Direct Pay) must be enabled at the account level for entity-isolated payment runs; buyers should confirm this is included in their contracted tier before go-live. No evidence of a per-entity re-licensing wall or entity count ceiling was found, but buyers should verify their Stampli contract allows entity additions without a formal amendment, as pricing details are not publicly disclosed.

Containment check

Exceeds

Your ask

2 entities

Vendor bound

= 15000 entities

Caveats

  • The claim does not specifically enumerate Sage Intacct configurations; coverage for your environment should be validated directly.
  • The 15,000 figure is a portfolio aggregate, not a per-customer ceiling; Stampli has not disclosed a documented per-tenant entity limit.
  • Sage Intacct entity sync behavior (inter-entity transactions, shared dimensions) must be validated in a live environment, as multi-entity ERP configurations vary structurally.

POC recommendation

Configure a POC with exactly 2 Sage Intacct entities to confirm inter-entity invoice routing, GL coding, and approval workflows function correctly before contract execution.

Based on

  • “15,000 Entities represented across the customer base” (hub, marquee_stat) source
Was this accurate?

Medius — Partially supported · 62% fit · Grade A

Partial

As a $120M multi-location services company operating 2 Sage Intacct entities with a third planned, you need an AP layer that can route invoices to the right entity-scoped workflow, post to the correct entity's GL, and scale to a third entity without re-implementation. Medius's own platform supports multi-entity environments through a 'company' construct with entity-scoped accounting templates, entity-aware approval routing, and virtual-company-level analytics visible from a single login, as documented in the Medius Success Portal. However, the connection to Sage Intacct specifically is delivered as a pre-packaged integration built in partnership with Acuity Solutions, a third-party implementation partner, rather than a Medius-native, directly maintained connector. Medius's blog and enterprise marketing pages confirm the platform centralizes AP workflows and reporting across multiple entities and ERP systems, with configurable entity-level workflows and approval hierarchies; but no public documentation from Medius or Acuity specifies whether that partner-delivered Intacct connector carries entity-level GL posting, Intacct's custom dimensions, or per-entity vendor master synchronization at the depth this buyer's multi-entity Intacct configuration requires.

Limitations

The Sage Intacct connector is partner-delivered via Acuity Solutions, not a Medius-native integration, and its per-entity GL mapping, Intacct dimension carriage, and multi-entity field fidelity are not publicly documented; the buyer must verify these specifics with Medius and Acuity before contracting to confirm the connector will carry all entity-level data correctly for a 2-entity deployment expanding to 3. Medius's core AP ERP integrations are built primarily for Microsoft Dynamics and SAP environments, and the Intacct connector has less independently verifiable documentation than those first-party connectors.

Containment check

Unknown fit

Your ask

2 entities

Vendor bound

Not publicly documented

Caveats

  • Medius publishes no documented entity-count ceiling for Sage Intacct, so contractual limits must be confirmed in writing before signing.
  • Multi-entity configurations in Medius may require separate entity onboarding fees, inflating total cost beyond the base license for 2 entities.
  • Cross-entity invoice routing and approval workflows should be verified in a sandbox, as Sage Intacct's entity-level permission model may restrict Medius automation.

POC recommendation

Run a POC provisioning exactly 2 Sage Intacct entities in Medius, validating end-to-end invoice capture, coding, and approval routing for each entity before contract execution.

Was this accurate?

Are you from Medius?

Dispute inaccuracies, add missing context, upload documentation, and keep your product data current. Your responses appear directly on the report and improve future evaluations.

Claim & Respond

Basware — Partially supported · 55% fit · Grade A

Partial

Your scenario involves 2 active Sage Intacct entities with a third planned, all processed through a centralized 3-person AP team. Basware's platform is built around an organizational structure that accommodates multiple companies or entities within a single AP processing environment: its developer XML integration guide instructs customers to submit one master data file per ERP system and notes that 'the organization structure created in Basware AP Automation affects how data is loaded,' with company codes used as prefixes in external record identifiers (e.g., [companyCode]_[AccountCode]). Its ERP integrations page commits to '100% of invoices across every entity, ERP, and geography' from a single centralized interface. At the architectural level, Basware can ingest invoices, apply entity-level GL coding, and route approval workflows per organizational unit. However, no pre-built, certified connector between Basware and Sage Intacct is listed on the Sage Intacct Marketplace, and Basware's documented certified integrations are primarily with SAP (BTP-certified), Oracle, and Microsoft Dynamics. For Sage Intacct specifically, integration would be delivered through Basware's general API or XML framework, requiring custom configuration to map each Intacct entity ID, chart of accounts, and dimensions. The depth of that custom integration — including whether entity-level posting (posting bills directly to Entity 1 vs. Entity 2 in Intacct, not just tagged records in Basware) is validated — is not documented for this specific ERP pairing.

Limitations

Basware carries genuine multi-entity architectural capability, but because the Sage Intacct integration is not a pre-certified marketplace connector, entity-level GL posting fidelity (posting to the correct Intacct entity ID, syncing each entity's chart of accounts and vendor master separately, and routing approval workflows by entity) must be scoped and validated during implementation rather than assumed from a standard connector. Adding a third entity would depend on how that custom integration was originally configured, not on a documented 'add entity' workflow.

Containment check

Unknown fit

Your ask

2 entities

Vendor bound

Not publicly documented

Caveats

  • Basware's entity model is contract-configured; without a documented bound, per-entity licensing fees may apply beyond the first entity.
  • Sage Intacct multi-entity data isolation must be validated against Basware's connector architecture, as shared ledger assumptions can break entity-level AP segregation.

POC recommendation

Run the POC across all 2 entities simultaneously in a Sage Intacct sandbox to confirm entity-level invoice routing, approval workflows, and GL posting operate independently before contract signature.

Was this accurate?

Are you from Basware?

Dispute inaccuracies, add missing context, upload documentation, and keep your product data current. Your responses appear directly on the report and improve future evaluations.

Claim & Respond

Critical · Data encryption at rest and in transit

Medius: SupportedStampli: SupportedBasware: Supported

SummaryMedius supports this: For a $120M multi-location services company handling invoice data, vendor credentials, and payment information across two Sage Intacct entities, Medius provides encryption controls at both the storage and transmission layers. Stampli supports this: For a multi-location services company moving from manual email-and-spreadsheet AP to an automated platform, data protection must cover every touchpoint: invoice ingestion, in-platform processing, ERP sync to Sage Intacct, and payment execution. Basware supports this: For a $120M services company routing 1,800 invoices per month through Basware into Sage Intacct, all invoice data, vendor credentials, and payment information are protected at both storage and transmission layers.

Medius — Supported · 92% fit · Grade A

Supported

For a $120M multi-location services company handling invoice data, vendor credentials, and payment information across two Sage Intacct entities, Medius provides encryption controls at both the storage and transmission layers. On the storage side, Medius explicitly documents AES-256 encryption across its infrastructure, which is hosted in Microsoft Azure data centers with customer data separated into unique SQL databases per customer. On the transmission side, Medius's Trust Center confirms that Transport Layer Security (TLS) protects all user access over the internet, and a Medius case study references 'full end to end encryption of all integration files as well as the integration communication channels.' These controls are independently audited: Medius holds ISO 27001:2022, SOC 1 Type 2, and SOC 2 Type 2 certifications, and its public SafeBase Trust Center shows a Qualys SSL Labs rating of A+, which confirms strong TLS configuration. The full security documentation package, including SOC 2 Type 2 report and PCI DSS report, is available upon request at trust.medius.com.

Limitations

Medius's publicly accessible Trust Center pages confirm AES-256 and TLS but do not enumerate the specific TLS version floor (1.2 vs. 1.3) in free-text form; buyers with contractual requirements for a minimum TLS version should request the full SOC 2 Type 2 report and Qualys detail from trust.medius.com to confirm. Customer-managed encryption keys (BYOK) are not documented in publicly available materials and should be confirmed directly with Medius for buyers with that specific requirement.

Was this accurate?

Are you from Medius?

Dispute inaccuracies, add missing context, upload documentation, and keep your product data current. Your responses appear directly on the report and improve future evaluations.

Claim & Respond

Stampli — Supported · 92% fit · Grade A

Supported

For a multi-location services company moving from manual email-and-spreadsheet AP to an automated platform, data protection must cover every touchpoint: invoice ingestion, in-platform processing, ERP sync to Sage Intacct, and payment execution. Stampli addresses all of these on its published Security Policy and Practices page. All data sent to or from Stampli is encrypted in transit using 256-bit encryption. API and application endpoints are TLS/SSL only, using only strong cipher suites. Data at rest is encrypted using an industry-standard AES-256 encryption algorithm. For the highest-sensitivity fields your AP team handles, including vendor bank accounts and tax identification numbers, protection goes a layer deeper: more sensitive data fields such as external system tokens, bank accounts, and Social Security numbers are further encrypted using AES-256 with a separate private key. The HIPAA documentation independently confirms that TLS encryption applies to inbound email uploads (the path by which your team currently receives invoices) and that outbound notifications enforce TLS as well, with delivery blocked if the recipient system does not support it. Stampli maintains SOC 2 Type 2 certification, which provides independent third-party audit attestation that these encryption controls are not only designed but operationally effective over time.

Limitations

Stampli's security policy page does not specify the minimum TLS version enforced (e.g., TLS 1.2 vs. 1.3), nor does it detail key management practices such as rotation schedules or HSM usage; buyers with formal information security policies requiring those specifics should request Stampli's full security whitepaper or data processing addendum during vendor due diligence. The infrastructure is hosted on AWS, which provides the underlying AES-256 storage layer, but Stampli does not disclose whether it uses customer-managed keys or AWS-managed keys for its key management model.

Was this accurate?

Basware — Supported · 85% fit · Grade A

Supported

For a $120M services company routing 1,800 invoices per month through Basware into Sage Intacct, all invoice data, vendor credentials, and payment information are protected at both storage and transmission layers. Basware's own published legal documentation explicitly states that 'network traffic over public Internet is encrypted and customer data in storage is encrypted,' with encryption key management handled using Hardware Security Modules (HSMs) in accordance with industry best practices. This covers both the data-at-rest requirement (invoice documents and financial records stored in Basware's cloud environment) and the data-in-transit requirement (API calls between Basware and Sage Intacct, supplier portal sessions, and outbound payment rails). Basware's security posture is independently attested through a triple certification stack: ISO 27001 (information security management), ISO 27017 (cloud-specific security controls), and ISO 27018 (protection of personal data in public clouds), plus product-specific SOC 2 / ISAE 3000 reports available to customers and prospects under NDA.

Limitations

Basware does not publicly name specific cipher parameters (such as AES-256 key length or minimum TLS version) on its public trust pages; buyers who require contractual confirmation of these specifics, for example to satisfy an internal security questionnaire or cyber insurance requirement, must request the full SOC 2 / ISAE 3000 report or Data Processing Agreement under NDA directly from Basware.

Was this accurate?

Are you from Basware?

Dispute inaccuracies, add missing context, upload documentation, and keep your product data current. Your responses appear directly on the report and improve future evaluations.

Claim & Respond

Important · Virtual card program with rebate revenue; we want to shift 30%+ of spend to virtual card

Medius: SupportedStampli: SupportedBasware: Partial

SummaryMedius supports this: For a US-based multi-location services company aiming to convert 30%+ of AP spend to virtual card, Medius delivers this through Medius Payments (their own payment module, priced separately from the core AP automation product). Stampli supports this: For a $120M multi-location services company looking to shift 30%+ of spend to virtual card, Stampli offers two complementary native mechanisms within Stampli Direct Pay. Basware partially supports this: For a $120M services company running two Sage Intacct entities and targeting 30%+ of spend on virtual card, Basware does offer virtual card as one of four payment rails within its payment module (check, ACH, virtual card, and wire from a single application), and its launch documentation explicitly states that clients can 'generate rebates on their spend' through this payment capability.

Medius — Supported · 88% fit · Grade A

Supported

For a US-based multi-location services company aiming to convert 30%+ of AP spend to virtual card, Medius delivers this through Medius Payments (their own payment module, priced separately from the core AP automation product). Once invoices are approved in the AP workflow, Medius Payments routes each payment to the optimal method: virtual card, ACH, wire, or check. For virtual card transactions, Medius issues a unique, single-use card number tied to a specific invoice and dollar amount; after the supplier processes it, the card self-destructs, closing the payment loop back to the ERP. The rebate structure is documented as 1%+ cashback paid monthly with no spend thresholds and no transaction fees on vCards, turning AP spend into a direct revenue stream. Supplier enrollment is handled by Medius's own dedicated onboarding team, which conducts outreach to the buyer's vendor base to maximize card acceptance, forecasts rebate potential, and auto-imports card reconciliation reporting into the ERP.

Limitations

Virtual cards through Medius Payments are available for US-based businesses only, which is not a blocker for this buyer but would be relevant if international supplier payments were added later. Medius's own data indicates that roughly 25% of vendors currently accept vCards across their network, meaning achieving the buyer's 30%+ spend-shift target depends on how successfully Medius's managed enrollment team converts the buyer's specific supplier base; the 30% goal is achievable but not guaranteed from day one, and actual rebate revenue will scale with that adoption rate.

Based on

  • “Remove complexity, reduce fraud, and save money by improving your payments process. Improve the way you pay suppliers by removing chores like file uploads with a streamlined, automated process.” (hub, body) source
Was this accurate?

Are you from Medius?

Dispute inaccuracies, add missing context, upload documentation, and keep your product data current. Your responses appear directly on the report and improve future evaluations.

Claim & Respond

Stampli — Supported · 92% fit · Grade A

Supported

For a $120M multi-location services company looking to shift 30%+ of spend to virtual card, Stampli offers two complementary native mechanisms within Stampli Direct Pay. The first is Stampli Card: when an invoice is approved, the AP team can pay the vendor using a single-use virtual card generated per transaction; the vendor receives card details via the Stampli Vendor Portal or a secure link and processes it to collect funds. Vendor Managers can invite vendors to accept card payments in bulk from the Vendor Management screen. The second mechanism is Stampli E-Payments, powered by the Paymode network (operated by Bottomline): for vendors already enrolled in Paymode, Stampli automatically sets E-payment as the default payment method in the Select to Pay queue; the buyer pays no per-transaction fee, and a portion of the network fee paid by the vendor is shared with the buyer as a rebate on qualifying transactions. Both paths generate rebate revenue: Stampli documents up to 1% cashback on eligible purchases, paid quarterly via ACH to the buyer's designated bank account. To maximize virtual card adoption, Stampli displays a green rebate badge on eligible invoices and an orange missed-rebate badge when an eligible invoice is routed to a non-E-payment method, creating an active prompt for AP to recapture the rebate opportunity before confirming a payment batch. All card transactions sync to Sage Intacct through the same Direct Pay integration and appear in Stampli as invoice-like records processed through the standard coding and approval workflow.

Limitations

The rebate ceiling is documented at 'up to 1%' with no publicly enumerated volume tiers, so the buyer cannot negotiate a higher rate through platform volume alone; actual rebate earned will also depend on whether vendors are enrolled in the Paymode network (for E-Payments) or willing to accept and process single-use virtual cards (for Stampli Card), and vendors such as utilities or government-adjacent service providers that do not accept card payments will remain outside the rebate-eligible pool, making the 30% adoption target a vendor-mix management challenge rather than a platform capability gap. For the Stampli Card path, vendor processing fees (interchange) are outside Stampli's control and may be passed back to the buyer, potentially offsetting part of the rebate on those transactions.

Was this accurate?

Basware — Partially supported · 45% fit · Grade A

Partial

For a $120M services company running two Sage Intacct entities and targeting 30%+ of spend on virtual card, Basware does offer virtual card as one of four payment rails within its payment module (check, ACH, virtual card, and wire from a single application), and its launch documentation explicitly states that clients can 'generate rebates on their spend' through this payment capability. The CorPay technology partner page on Basware's current website confirms an ongoing relationship with a commercial card infrastructure provider, which is the typical mechanism for sourcing virtual card issuance and rebate revenue share. However, the detailed documentation on Basware's virtual card rebate program dates to its 2018 NetworkPay launch; there is no current (2024-2026) Basware product page or help center article that confirms the buyer-rebate virtual card program is actively available to US mid-market customers, outlines rebate tiers, or documents a supplier enrollment program designed to drive adoption toward a target like 30% of spend. Critically, Basware's ePayments documentation lists its pre-built ERP integrations as Oracle, SAP, Unit4, and several UK-market ERPs, without listing Sage Intacct; no certified Sage Intacct marketplace listing for Basware's payment module was found, which creates a material uncertainty about whether virtual card payments would loop back to Sage Intacct automatically or require manual reconciliation steps.

Limitations

Basware's primary buyer-revenue mechanism in its current marketing is early payment discounts (dynamic discounting funded by the buyer's own cash), which is structurally different from virtual card interchange rebates; a buyer focused on virtual card rebate revenue as a financial goal should confirm with Basware directly whether the rebate-bearing virtual card program is actively sold in the US market, at what rebate rates, and whether it includes managed supplier enrollment services capable of reaching the 30%+ spend-shift target. The absence of a certified Sage Intacct integration for Basware's payment module introduces additional integration risk for payment posting and reconciliation across the two existing entities.

Based on

  • “$10T Payments approved” (hub, marquee_stat) source
  • “Authorize payments up to 30x faster, saving labor and earning early payment discounts” (product, body) source
Was this accurate?

Are you from Basware?

Dispute inaccuracies, add missing context, upload documentation, and keep your product data current. Your responses appear directly on the report and improve future evaluations.

Claim & Respond

More on these vendors and topics

Have your own requirements?

Upload an RFP or describe your process, and get a structured comparison tailored to your specific needs.